Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Wrestling with Dirt November 6, 2012

Filed under: Country Life,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:38 am
Tags: , , ,

Things get so darn dirty around here.

A. My car.

I’m pretty sure it’s the reason why I have so few friends. It has become a giant mobile text message with all the graffiti my kids have scribbled in the dust-coated exterior provided by my 6 mile long gravel road. Hangman is a popular game for my kids to play on my car while waiting on me to take them to school or wrestling practice.

They’ve also written things like:

I heart my kids

and

Help Me!

I’m really hoping that when people see me and my three boys pass by, they realize I’m the one actually in need of help. At wrestling practice last night I saw my 9-year-old take down a 125 pound boy, nearly twice his size and bigger than me.

It would probably be wise of me to pay a bit more attention to the lessons at practice tonight. Maybe work out a bit. Pump some iron. Perfect my fireman’s carry.

Regardless, I’m thinking the days of getting my bluff in are numbered.

Too bad the days of doing laundry aren’t. I’m pretty sure I will be wrestling with dirty laundry for the rest of my days.

The only thing saving my sanity when it comes to laundry is the delay start button on my front load washing machine. It makes me look so effortlessly efficient.

I can use all the help I can get in that department.

With the delay start button, I can put a load of filthy laundry in the machine before bed, set the timer to start early the next morning and have one load of laundry freshly cleaned and ready to dry before I even get out of bed. If it weren’t for that and the sanitize button on the machine, I’m not sure I could survive life on this ranch.

Don’t get me wrong, the boys do help clean things.

1. Saddles.

125 - Copy

2. More saddles.

111 - Copy
3. And tack.
124 - Copy

But typically they only clean things if it means they can get dirty in the process.

Help me.

 

9 Responses to “Wrestling with Dirt”

  1. I have a feeling I’ve only just reached the tip of the iceberg in terms of doing dirty washing- unfortunately we have to hang everything out to dry which can be quite slow in the winter!

  2. Dianna Says:

    What’s the saying: “Mothers of boys work from son up til son down!”? That’s what your post brought to mind today. That delayed start on the washer sounds nice – wish mine had it!

  3. pixilated2 Says:

    A six mile driveway and a washer with a delay button! Totally jealous!!!
    Lynda

  4. You’ve got some nice little helpers there. Our saddles could use a little scrubbing too. Glad to see you posting blogs again.

  5. Katherine Cook Says:

    You have arrived! ;). You’re on my list of favorite authors! Keep em coming!

    Sent from my iPhone


I love comments!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.