Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

The Sidetracked Side of Things. November 7, 2012

Filed under: Country Life — Piper Long @ 9:50 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I still haven’t started painting fence around here. Primarily because I’ve been making excuses and getting sidetracked. At first it was too cold. Then it was too windy. And lately it’s been too…

pretty.

I know I’ve used this excuse in the past, but it’s a valid argument.

I’ve used this same excuse as a reason to procrastinate hand picking pecans to replenish my freezer stash. Every pecan season I contemplate whether or not I should buy pecan harvesting equipment so I will no longer have to pick the pecans by hand. Ultimately, each season, I decide that I wouldn’t have near the time or help I’d need to pick up each and every twig in order to run the equipment through our large, muddled pecan grove.

Sure I have three boys who are completely willing and able to pick up sticks. But I’ve learned that in boy talk “stick” is code for “weapon” and the domino effect of potential outcomes that could develop from an entire day of gathering “weapons” with 3 boys just doesn’t compute.

So each year I decide it’s best to have our neighbor harvest our pecans as usual while I hand-pick the fruits of the trees that can’t be harvested with their equipment.

But today I’m really thinking that even though it’s supposed to be a perfectly beautiful day, I should really go pick some pecans because I know that when Drover gets finished planting his wheat, he will have me out building and tearing down fences. And then I will have zero time to pick pecans, crack pecans and dig the meat out of the shells.

At least moving on to fencing means we will have helpers. I’m sure it will come to no surprise that my boys are quite helpful when it comes to the destruction of old fences.
065 - Copy
One removes clips.

070 - Copy
The other holds the clip bucket.

“Have you tried the kare-ra-tee-CHOP! …That’s how I’d do it.”
067 - Copy
“I will try your so-called fencing pliers… but I still think the kare-ra-tee-CHOP would be thy best method.”
072 - Copy
Here, the middle child struggles to remove a stubborn clip.
074 - Copy
And the eldest lends him a hand.

Then one of the boys notices an armadillo wandering by, minding its own business, unaware of the curiosity young fence demolitioners exhibit. And then the helpers are sidetracked.

I can’t imagine how this confounded characteristic took root in my children.
084 - Copy
All I know is that our sidetracked helpers have ditched the fencing pliers and clips for weapons like sticks…
085 - Copy
…and t-posts which they intend to use as make-shift probes to drive the armadillo out of it’s back entrance.

Or the east entrance.
083 - Copy
Or maybe the west entrance.

 

2 Responses to “The Sidetracked Side of Things.”

  1. Dianna Says:

    Busy bein’ boys!


I love comments!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.