Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Cleaning Out The Hen House February 14, 2011

Filed under: Animals,Country Life,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 6:21 am
Tags: , , , ,

When the 2011 blizzard hit my small Oklahoma town, it wiped out the entire egg section at Wal-Mart for nearly two weeks. When they finally got the egg back in the store, the entire town was so excited that they threw a huge celebration in honor of it’s arrival. It’s was quite the spectacle.

Meanwhile, back at the farm, the chickens were cooped up in their warm, comfy coop, with nothing better to do than lay eggs.

And poop. See that funny looking ladder type thing made from tree branches? That’s my homemade roost. Not bad, huh? Where there is a roost, there is poo.

With so many chickens in such a small space for so many days, it’s inevitable… the chicken house was a downright mess. My house didn’t look much better. In fact, I think the chicken house was cleaner.

Rather than clean them both, I decided that I would just move. So I packed up my things, hopped in the truck and motored out to the ranch house to check on the progress of the remodel only to find that the county road was no longer a dirt road. It was a mud pit… I mean road. And the house? Well, it still didn’t have any appliances. Or cabinets. Or sinks. Or lights.

So I resigned to clean both my house and the chicken’s house. I think the hens are grateful.

Your Eggcellent Blogging Friend,
Barefoot Indian

 

I love comments!

