Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Starting a Garden – Day 1 February 21, 2011

Filed under: Gardening — Piper Long @ 12:10 am

Last we talked about the garden, it looked like this.

With so much snow, I figured I had a good two weeks before the garden would be ready to work. Surprisingly though, the sun and wind doubled up and dried everything out in half the time. Giving me a full month to prepare and plant my potatoes and onions within my own personal deadline dates.

Remember the thick blue stem I was telling you about? Here it is.

It was so incredibly thick and unbelievably tall that I decided to ask my husband for help.

First, he brought out the brush hog and mowed a patch where the garden would be to make the task of removing the blue stem a bit easier. But rather than taking a shovel or tiller to the fallow patch, he did something I thought was absolutely genius. He burnt the patch of blue stem.

I’m so glad I married someone smarter than me.

Did I just say that out loud?

As you can see, this is a much faster way to get rid of that pesky, old top growth. And to think I almost skipped this step.

Don’t worry about that old tattered fence. It will be removed. We just thought it would be easier to burn the tangled grass beforehand.

Now, notice how many people are out helping in the garden at this point. Remember that now. Because you will NEVER see that again. Ever. It always happens that way. When I start my garden, I start with an abundance of participants. But only the strongest survive until the finish. In the end, there will be only one, if any, left working in the garden once the summer sun heats up.

For now, the sun is merciful and temperatures are mild and I have some good help. And I think we all know that when it comes to grass fires, I need all the help I can get.

I don’t think a single flame could get past these little enthusiastic firefighters.

Barefoot Indian

 

One Response to “Starting a Garden – Day 1”

  1. pobept Says:

    Good for you. Burning a badly over grown area before starting the real work of preparing your garden plot for seed is a good idea and very helpful in killing many grass and weed seeds waiting to spring up in your new garden plot.


I love comments!

