Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A Horse Named Cattle February 22, 2011

Filed under: Animals,Country Life,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 12:21 am

I just love hanging out with Cattle.

Cattle the equine, that is, not to be confused with the plural form of its bovine counterpart. Not that I don’t love the bovine counterpart, I do. They happen to be vital to our farm and ranch operation. But cattle and Cattle are completely different.

There are lots of things that set Cattle apart from cattle.

1. Cattle is clean and smells like heaven.

2. I can braid Cattle’s hair.

3. Cattle will follow my command.

We bought Cattle from a friend who bought him from an elderly gentleman who used to compete with Cattle in rodeos. Now Cattle works cattle on our farm and ranch. And he’s good at it.

He was a gift for my son’s 7th birthday. When asked what he wanted to name his horse, he immediately replied without hesitation, “I’ll name him Cattle”.

Cattle is a gentle, mellow quarter horse. With a beautiful chestnut coat.

I love cattle because he can be ridden bareback. Which is great for people like me who are saddling impaired.

I love that my boys can crawl all over him and he could care less.


In fact, I think he enjoys the attention.

Barefoot Indian

 

One Response to “A Horse Named Cattle”

  1. Cindy Haley Says:

    Methinks Isaac is going to have to share with Mommy and Ian.


I love comments!

