Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Shopping for light fixtures February 28, 2011

Filed under: Remodel,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 11:38 pm

Today I went shopping for light fixtures with a 4-year-old boy. He was the only one willing to put up with my indecisive tendencies.

I think the pocket full of candy helped him cope as I wandered aimlessly about the store, searching for the perfect fixture, wondering why it is necessary to have such a massive variety of lighting.

I really needed someone to take my hand and lead me to the perfect fixture. My 4-year-old was happy to oblige, sticky fingers and all.

But I just wasn’t sure if he was really taking it seriously enough. I’m not sure if he realizes that we will have to look at the chosen fixture until it dies of physical exhaustion. Which may not be all that long. But if we choose a well made product, we may be stuck with it for good.

We traveled from the specialty fixture store to the discount fixture store and ended up departing in defeat with a crick in our necks and a pain in our behinds. Due mostly in part to the mutual distress resulting from an overwhelming display of lighting.

Do we go with the fancy, high dollar fixture?

How about the fixture that Garth Brooks purchased?

Or the middle of the road, sensible fixture?

The dollar signs were really starting to pile up during this browsing expedition. By the end of the day, I was all about the cheap fixtures.

This one from Lowes.com is nice looking and affordable at over half the price of the chosen fixture from the specialty store.

I decided it would be perfect.

Until I got home and read a few online reviews about the poor quality. Reportedly, the ring attached to the fixture has broken on occasion. It begs the question, “Is this a result of children hanging from the chandelier?” If this is the case, we must rule it out. My children will likely hang from the chandelier on a daily basis. (Just kidding. I think.)

So I decided to really confuse myself and look at Potterybarn.com.

I LOVE this fixture.

But it seems like it would be even less sturdy than the previous.

Take a gander at his Pottery Barn fixture.

I love it too. But my 4-year-old is not so sure Daddy will have the mutual love for this fixture. Maybe he’s right. Maybe this one is too fru-fru for a ranch house. After all, I am supposed to decorate in keeping with the ranch house feel. Plus it may be a nightmare to clean.

So tell me… Is an expensive fixture actually better quality or does it just have more detailing? How rustic does a ranch house need to be? Does a ranch house even need lights? Maybe this entire day was a waste of my time. Maybe I just need to buy some kerosene lanterns.

I’m so confused.

This is not my forte… I don’t even think I have a forte.

Barefoot Indian

 

3 Responses to “Shopping for light fixtures”

  1. Cindy Haley Says:

    I honestly don’t think there’s a huge variance in quality (as far as function goes) between the higher priced light fixtures and lower priced ones. I mean, there are safety codes that the manufacturers have to follow, so they should all function at the same level. It’s really all about aesthetic. I like the first one, but the comparable Pottery Barn one, oh my, I LOVE it. That’s the one I’d pick. As far as how rustic a ranch house has to be…can’t help you there…I like to sprinkle an eclectic mix of all sorts of styles all over my house.

    • I like the Pottery Barn one too. It’s not as expensive as the one I picked out at the specialty store. I think I will buy two fixtures based on aestheics and the rest are going to be based on price. I do remember loving certain fixtures in my old house. I think it’s because I didn’t have to pick them out! Thanks for the feedback ladies!

  2. Kim Says:

    I bought cheap fixtures from Lowe’s 3 1/2 years ago and so far they’re fine. I hardly even look at them anymore. Good luck!!!


I love comments!

