Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

The feed truck March 3, 2011

Filed under: Animals,Country Life,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 12:44 am
Tags: , , ,

It never ceases to amaze me how cows will drop everything they’re doing to chase after the truck that feeds them.

Not only can they hear their dinner coming over a mile away, but they can see it. At over a mile away, they can tell you the make, model, color and fuel type of the vehicle in question without even looking.

Want proof?

This is my truck.

I know. Not exactly feminine. It’s temporary. But I kinda like it. It’s great for toting around three dirty boys. No carpet, all leather. And it’s like a tank. I can’t destroy it no matter how many times I back into the Bermuda sprigger. And the best part of all… it’s got a bun warmer.

This is my husband’s truck.

No bun warmer.

Can you tell the difference?

Our cows can.

(Here they are beside each other.)

It might take them a time or two, but they figure it out.

At first, I was annoyed that the heifers kept swarming my truck like paparazzi on JLo. But once they figured it out, they completely ignored my paltry passing altogether. The rejection was somewhat disheartening.

This is what our cows do when my husband comes up the road.

This is what our cows do when I come up the road.

And it’s not just our cows. All cows know the truck that feeds them. One of our neighbors drives a similar truck. Same make, similar model, same fuel type, different color. We drive by his cows every day, and not once have his cows mistaken our truck for his.

Barefoot Indian

 

One Response to “The feed truck”

  1. Cindy Haley Says:

    Hmmm….interesting.
    I know a certain boy that would run a mile to have ME wipe his boogery nose after asking HIS FATHER for a tissue…is that kind of the same thing?


I love comments!

