Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Remodeling the Ranch House March 5, 2011

Filed under: Remodel,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:39 am
Tags: , ,

The fact that the ranch house came fully furnished was a mixed blessing.

Kinda like receiving a truckload of chocolate. On the one hand, it’s exactly what I want…. on the other hand, it’s not so good for me.

I love antiques. I love the unique. And I love a good find. This house was full of all of that and more. Much more. So much more that it was almost overwhelming. There were things that made me laugh and things that made me cry…. things that made me cringe and things that made me sing sweet hallelujahs. Mostly the things were interesting, intriguing and down right historical.

We found paintings from the 1900’s.

We found books and letters from the late 1800’s and early 1900’s

We now have an extensive collection of old, classic records…. but no record player.


I have a sewing machine with antique sewing chairs, antique typewriter with typewriter cabinet and a baby grand piano to name a few great finds.

Here is a picture of the old living room setup with the baby grand piano in the back corner.

We didn’t have our recessed lighting completed at this point, so it was hard to get a good ‘during remodel’ shot, but this will give you an idea of where we’re at in the remodel.

The picture turned out a bit dark, but you get the gist of it.

This is a picture of the same living room from the opposite end, standing in the doorway next to where the baby grand piano was in the before shot. I thought I’d gotten plenty of before pictures, but I didn’t get one from this angle.

The interior was in good overall condition and move-in ready. But we wanted to make it feel like ours. One of the things that we loved about our old farmhouse was the oak hard wood floors throughout the entire house. They were beautiful and extremely practical. So we decided to add that flooring to this house to make it feel like home.


These are pine floors.

It helps to have lots of good help from workers who know exactly what they’re doing. You gotta hit the hammer right on the nail head.


Sometimes it helps if you take one boot off. Gives you more balance. That and a little manure on your back. Works every time. If you’re a 4-year-old.

 

One Response to “Remodeling the Ranch House”

  1. Coody Says:

    That last picture is my favorite! Reminds me of when my kids were little. Anxious to see the house 😉


I love comments!

