Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Red Framed Windows on Sandstone House March 18, 2011

Filed under: Remodel — Piper Long @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , ,

When we first decided to purchase the ranch house and subsequently remodel bits and pieces, I knew immediately that I wanted red framed windows because I’d seen them before on another native stone house.

But for the life of me, I couldn’t remember where I’d seen red framed windows on a sandstone house. I searched all over the internet, in catalogs and around town and didn’t see a single sandstone house with red framed windows.

In fact, I only saw one home with red framed windows in all my search around town and it didn’t have a sandstone exterior.

Being the stubborn woman that I am, I insisted on checking the price and letting that be the deciding factor. Turns out red framed windows are at least twice as much as standard color frames. Apparently red framed windows aren’t in real high demand.

I’d all but given up on my red framed windows. I was beginning to think I’d dreamt the whole thing up.

But for the sake of being thorough, and just to be sure, I decided to test the color out on one of the old silver lined windows… just to see what it would look like.

It sure made the windows pop… but I couldn’t decide if that was a good thing or a bad thing.

That’s about the time that we decided to take a family trip to Woolaroc.

And there they were.

My red framed windows nestled into the native sandstone rock.

I don’t know if it is because the windows are nicer, the home is grander or the color is a bit different…

But I think I would like them.

 

6 Responses to “Red Framed Windows on Sandstone House”

  1. Kendall Says:

    I think red is good for any circumstance, but I must say, that red looks fantastic on the window frame!

  2. Nona Roach Says:

    You can Never go wrong with RED, just look at my roof… Red Pigment is the most expensive and that is why even with oil paints to paint canvasses with it is always more expensive. Hold out for what you want, you are going to look at them for a good long time!

  3. Gorell Windows and Doors did offer red framed, vinyl replacement windows. Their webpage is http://www.gorell.com. They are a little pricey, but they will make custom replacement windows to your specs. The quality is really high on their 5300 series and they are extremely easy to install. A couple of years ago, I replaced all 17 of the windows in my house with this brand. I love them. They’re secure, airtight and very easy to clean. They were still offering the red framed windows when I got mine.


I love comments!

