Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Roasted Potatoes March 18, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:53 pm
Tags: ,

Just when I thought my boys had every type of toy weaponry imaginable, my Mom up and pulls a potato gun out of her bag and bestows it to my little darlings.

Big score for Ya-Ya.

This here is a potato gun.

The best part about it? I always have the required ammo on hand. And what’s better… it’s cheap.

Here’s how it works:
1. The gun operator stabs the potato with the tip of the barrel, causing a chunk of potato to become lodged in the barrel.
2. The gun operator then squeezes the trigger with his forefinger, ideally firing the lodged potato.

This game goes on for some time until my three little darlings realize that there is but one potato gun. Then all rules are off and complete and total madness ensues. Which means I have bits of potato scattered about my living room and large, raw, holey potatoes threatening to waste away.

Not being one to let anything go to waste, I frugally gather the mutilated spuds, toss them on a cutting board along with onion, salt, pepper and olive oil and make roasted potatoes.

Cut potatoes and onions into chunks and spread out on foil lined cookie sheet, arranging in a single layer.

Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 min to an hour or until potatoes are golden brown and crisp. Flip once for even browning.

This post is dedicated to Denise. And yes, you will need to purchase a potato gun in order to complete this recipe.

Just kidding.

 

3 Responses to “Roasted Potatoes”

  1. Simple recipes tend to be simply the best. Roasting potatoes can be a true art form.

    “Be content that those who can make omelettes properly can do nothing else.”
    Hilaire Belloc

  2. chefshellina Says:

    Oh my- I laughed and laughed at this. My little boy is 2.5, yet I can just imagine him having a hoot of a time with this little toy. Nice work making something useful out of the carnage. 😉


I love comments!

