Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Scrambled Eggs with Wild Onions March 21, 2011

Filed under: Country Life,Home and Garden,Recipes — Piper Long @ 5:57 am
Tags: , , , ,

My favorite thing about the arrival of spring is the beginnings of life not only in my garden…


(strawberries)

But also in my pecan grove, aka, my wild garden.


Look closely.

It’s not just grass, weeds and flowers.

It’s also chock full of wild onions.

Daisy loves them just as much as I do.

I stumbled upon this patch of wild onions completely by accident.

It was mid-spring of our first year on the farm and I decided it was time to groom the patch of vegetation down the lane. So I hopped on the mower and powered up the blades. Within a few short minutes of mowing… I found myself weeping.

It was a mixture of tears brought on by an overwhelming aroma of chopped onions and sheer joy. I couldn’t believe that a food item emerged voluntarily on my land.

Would have been nice if It’d emerged in my garden. Or better yet in the planter right outside of my front door. But I’m happy all the same. And the fact that they return year after year, is enough to convince me that they are happy too. And it’s always good to eat happy food.

I think.

Since my chives haven’t fully returned from their long winter’s nap, the wild onions are a perfect substitute.

And the best part of all? They’re free!

My absolute most favorite way to eat them is with scrambled eggs. It’s just not spring until I’ve had my Scrambled Eggs with Wild Onions.

First, crack your eggs in a bowl, like this.

Give them a whirl.

Pour em in a pan with a little butter.

Add the wild onions.

Then plate them up with some toast and fresh fruit!

As the mushrooms get here, I will have myself a bona-fide breakfast omelet.

If only I could get my little cowboys to appreciate the fresh spring flavor…

 

4 Responses to “Scrambled Eggs with Wild Onions”

  1. Cindy Haley Says:

    Love the “happy food” comment, followed immediately by a smiley faced bowl of eggs. You’re a funny gal.
    We had a fierce patch of wild onions at my last house…we eventually stopped trying to get rid of them and embraced what they had to offer.

  2. Kim Says:

    I’m kind of onion dumb since we grew up in an onion-free home…do you use the green part or the bulby onion part?


I love comments!

