Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

The Gravel Road March 28, 2011

Filed under: Country Life,Musings — Piper Long @ 11:10 pm
Tags: , ,

It seems to me that country folks who live way out in the boonies are generally quite relaxed in character. And I think I know why.

It’s the road.

There is no “hurry” in six-mile-long-curvy-gravel-road. It’s just not physically possible… if you look at the physics of it.

Now that I think of it, I never was very good at physics. Maybe that’s my problem.

-I can’t go over 25 miles/hr. on this road.
-I can’t text on this road.
-I can’t even apply lip gloss on this road.

All thanks to the pot holes, curves and cattle guards.

But this road isn’t the worst road on the ranch.

The worst road leads down to the bottom pasture. It is quite possibly the world’s bumpiest gravel road in history. No speed limit posted here. Anything over three miles per hour and you run the risk of getting the snot knocked out of ya. As much as I’d like to avoid this road altogether, I can’t.

At the end of this road lies the only corral on the ranch. It is the only place that we can corral the cows long enough to work them. Therefore, it is a really good place to feed them.

And that’s exactly why we are driving the road today.

If we survive the world’s bumpiest gravel road, we park the truck and call up the cows. And we WAIT on them to get there. We holler and WAIT. Then WAIT and holler.

Sometimes I catch up on my texting.

Once the cows are all up, I saddle myself into the driver’s seat while my cowboy hops on the back and prays that I won’t have any phone service while I’m driving and snapping pictures. I proceed to creep along at a whopping .5 mile/hr. dodging cow patties, hoping I don’t throw my husband off the back.

Wouldn’t want the cows to pick their cake out of cow patties.

And I wouldn’t want my husband to fall off the back, lest I have to get him to a hospital in a hurry. Cause there’s no “hurry” in world’s-bumpiest-road-in-history-and-six-mile-long-curvy-gravel-road.

If we were fancy and highfalutin, we would have one of them high-tech trip hoppers to distribute the feed. But we don’t. We’ve got 5 gallon buckets.

And they seem to do the job just fine.

Once the final bucket is emptied, we start taking attendance. If we’re short, we know someone is out sick or calving.

Once everyone is accounted for, we take it easy heading back up the road.

Giving us plenty of time to take in the sunset.

 

4 Responses to “The Gravel Road”

  1. Cindy Haley Says:

    Jennifer Kennedy introduced me to her bumpiest road ever not too long ago…are they technically roads only by the virtue of the fact that you drive a vehicle on that path over and over? Because hers included crossing a creek.

    Anyhoo, incredible sunset picture!

  2. chefshellina Says:

    we LOVE this blog. We’re totally city people, but you write so honestly and frankly- I just can’t stay away. 🙂


I love comments!

