Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Strawberry Pie April 12, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Piper Long @ 4:45 am
Tags: , , ,

For myself, my family and the good of the world…

I made strawberry pie.

With hand whisked sweetened whipped cream topping. Not because I like to hand whisk my whipping cream. But because I couldn’t find an electronic mixer.

So I mixed it by hand.

This would have been the perfect time for my ambidextrous talents to kick in. But they didn’t. Never have and never will. It was all on the right arm.

Just when the massive muscles of my right arm were beginning to fatigue, the cream magically thickened into a puffy cloud of holiness.

Perfect for my strawberry pie.

Here’s the recipe.

Strawberry Pie
2 1/2 qts strawberries, cut up into bite-sized pieces
3/4 – 1 cup sugar (depending on sweetness of strawberries)
1 cup plus 1 Tbl water
2 Tbl cornstarch
3 oz strawberry jello
1 baked pie shell

In a saucepan, combine water, sugar and cornstarch. Bring to a boil. Boil, stirring constantly for one minute. Remove from heat. Stir in jello. Set aside until room temperature. Meanwhile, cut strawberries into bite-sized pieces and arrange in baked pie shell. Pour room temperature jello mix over top and chill until firm. Top with sweetened whipped cream.

Whipped Topping: 1 Cup whipping cream plus 2 Tbl. sugar. Whip until thick and dreamy.

 

2 Responses to “Strawberry Pie”

  1. Coody Says:

    Definitely going to try this one! Looks yummmmy!

  2. Reid Kiral Says:

    I just wanted to say, I authentically enjoyed your blog post and I added your link to my wordpress blog today as a recommended site. This is the blog I was looking for! Thanks


I love comments!

