Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Hummingbird Juice May 5, 2011

Filed under: Country Life — Piper Long @ 6:41 am
Tags: ,

It’s that time of year! Hummingbird time!

You can thank my Nana for my love of “honeybirds”, as she lovingly refers to them. And they gather at her house every year by the dozens. She puts out several feeders to keep up with the demand. And for as long as I can remember, she has always made up her own hummingbird juice.

It consists of only three ingredients:

1 part sugar (1/4 cup sugar) or (1 cup sugar)
4 parts water (1 cup water) or (4 cups water)
few drops red food coloring (optional)

Bring to a boil, just to dissolve the sugar. Let come to room temperature before serving. May also be kept in the fridge until ready to use. Label as “toxic” so little sugar-addicted-whippersnappers aren’t tempted to drink the sweetened hyperactive-inducing drink concoction.

Some hummingbird lovers object to the red dye additive, but my Nana’s birds have never once complained.

I didn’t add any to my feeder this year, because I didn’t have any. But I likely will because it helps my nearly blind eyes see when it’s about time to brew up some more juice.

I made up a small batch to start, unsure if I’d even have any hummingbird visitors due to the extended vacancy of the residence. But not 5 minutes after I hung the feeder, I had a drinker.

Which was surprising.

They must have been staked out in the tree thinkin’ GAH! When’s that lady gonna get the dang feeder out already?

 

I love comments!

