Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Birds May 8, 2011

Filed under: Nature,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 9:13 pm
Tags: ,

1.

There was a hummingbird IN my house this weekend.

The ranch house is nestled so far back in the countryside that on nice spring days we tend to leave the exterior doors wide open so we may run in and out as much as we please without the hassle of turning a knob. When you work all day long, it’s really the little conveniences in life that make it SO much more enjoyable. Not that I work all day long, but if I did, I doubt I would feel like opening the door.

Apparently the hummingbirds were of the same mindset, because one decided to march right on in and help herself in the kitchen. I’m starting to get the feeling that she was staked out in front of the house for more than just a measly sugar fix last week.

Now I find myself telling the kids…

“SHUT THE DOOR!! YOU’RE LETTING ALL THE HUMMINGBIRDS IN!!”

2.

There is an egg missing from the killdeer nest. I’m not sure if I should be worried, angry or concerned.

Worried that something terrible happened to the 4th egg. Angry that I missed the birth of the first born. Concerned as to why it is that I have the time to check up on this little nest, yet have no time to watch the popular sitcoms and reality shows.

3.

The ranch is home to some of THE most beautiful birds.

And the best part?

I don’t even have to feed them to entice them to visit… except of course for the hummingbirds. Who have started to overstep some boundaries.

I think I am becoming a bird watcher.

 

2 Responses to “Birds”

  1. Cindy Says:

    1. Just put a hummingbird feeder in the kitchen and go with it.
    2. You work harder than anyone I know, and you’re not missing a thing on the television. I promise.
    3. Birds are my favorite animal. I’d be right there with you, watching birds.

  2. kim Says:

    Birds in the house = not good. I have a patient right now with an angry parrot that I swear is plotting against me.

    It’s a good thing that you don’t have time to watch tv. Or that you don’t make time. I’d be a lot busier and get a lot more done if I didn’t.


I love comments!

