Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Never Fail Pie Crust May 12, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Piper Long @ 11:47 pm
Tags: , ,

I used to avoid making pies at all cost because the crust was just too stinkin’ hard to get right…. too flakey, too soft, too tough, too dry, too small… or completely and utterly tasteless. All of which would be good if you are on a diet and skip the crust altogether.

In which case you may want to reconsider using this recipe.

I happened upon this recipe in a local church cookbook and decided to give it a shot.

True to the name, it was a success.

Thank you Ruby for sharing this recipe.

Never Fail Pie Crust
4 cups flour
2 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. sugar
1 3/4 cups shortening
1/2 cup water
1 Tbsp. vinegar
1 egg

Start by mixing the flour, salt and sugar.


Add the butter flavored shortening.

Cut it into the flour mixture with a pastry blender until crumbly.


Because I don’t like to wash dishes, I used the same measuring cup to measure my water. Then I added my vinegar and egg to the same cup.

And mixed it up.

And added it to the crumbles.

I tossed it all together with a spoon…

until I couldn’t stir no more. Then I used my hands to mash it together until I got a perfect dough.

Never fails!

At this point, it can be divided into thirds if you are making one crust pies or halved to make two (two-crust) pies.

Wrap in cling wrap and chill until easy to work.

Then roll out on lightly floured surface.

Transfer to a pie plate.

Cut off the excess dough to even the edges.

For a one crust pie, I fold the edges under toward the pie pan.

Then flute the edges.

Note: If I’m making a two-crust pie, I will leave the edges evenly cut, add the filling and top crust, and fold the crust up, then flute the edges.

Bake unfilled one-crust pie shell at 450 for about 10-14 minutes.

 

2 Responses to “Never Fail Pie Crust”

  1. Skuba Says:

    Oh I am so jealous of you fluting! My mom is left handed and I am strictly right handed so I could never flip what I am supposed to do. I get it sealed and my method kind of looks like a sunflower so I roll with it but yours looks very nice.

  2. Cindy Says:

    I’m with Skuba…your fluting is ridiculous…in a good way. I’m beginning to think that you and Martha Stewart hang out together. I think your new blog entry should be a fluting how-to. I’d read that. Just sayin’.


I love comments!

