Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Asparagus and Strawberries May 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 9:10 am

I planted asparagus roots earlier this spring and to my surprise, they have produced a few sprigs. I think I may have planted them in March. So for those of you who are wondering… yes, asparagus can produce sprigs a couple of months after being planted in early spring. Plus, they will continue production for years to come. So planting them in a place where you don’t have to bother with the weeds is perfect.

I started by planting them in my garden bed, seen in the above picture. But I quickly realized the labor intensive process of removing the weeds constantly until infinity was not a sentence I wished to endure. They would have to go somewhere else. Now.

In years past, I would get asparagus from an oil lease property where the sprigs grew up randomly through the grass and weeds. This spot was never mowed or weeded and we always had an abundance of asparagus.

The problem with this arrangement at our ranch house location would be that if I planted them in the yard, they might get mowed down or trampled. If I plant them just outside of the yard, the grass and weeds would grow so tall that I might not be able to find the asparagus.

So a couple of weeks ago, I decided to transplant them into a container…. with my strawberries.

So far, they have not only survived, but they are also still producing.

 

2 Responses to “Asparagus and Strawberries”

  1. Pany Says:

    Fantastic! I’ve never tried asparagus but I will soon!

  2. Cindy Says:

    Are you still going to sell your veggies at the Farmer’s market this summer? I love me some asparagus!


I love comments!

