Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Freshwater Mussels June 7, 2011

Filed under: Country Life — Piper Long @ 1:45 pm
Tags:


The first time my husband took me out to the ranch as a teenager, I remember being completely amazed at the size of ‘seashells’ I found on the creek bank. I’d never seen anything like them. They were pearly and smooth and larger than any I’d ever seen before. My husband told me they were freshwater mussels and that they were a delicacy among the racoon population.

I spent much of my time collecting the empty shells and looking for the living bivalves. Hoping with all the hope a teenager could muster that I would find one with a big ‘ol pearl inside. In fact, that’s the only reason I agreed to marry my husband.

According to my highly scientific mathematical figures, the odds of me finding a pearl inside one the millions of freshwater mussels in the lifetime I had left were pretty good.

But I never found any pearls. Nor did I find any living bivalves.

Until today.

Well, I didn’t actually find the living mussel…. one of my little pee-huhs did.

(Pee-huh: Pronounced pee-huh. A completely made up word used to affectionately refer to a young, ornery child. Originates from my paternal side of the family.)

After delighting in my astonishment, the little pee-huhs rushed home and threw it in a pot of boiling water until it popped open.

Then they ate it.

Too bad it didn’t have a pearl inside.

 

One Response to “Freshwater Mussels”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Only your pee-huhs would think to eat it. Jill showed Wyatt all of the HUMONGOUS mussel shells that her kids found out at the ranch…I could not believe my eyes! Huge! I wanna come see the ranch now that it’s all done! Invite me! ;P


I love comments!

