Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Herefords and Branding June 12, 2011

Filed under: ranching,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:32 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s June… time to bring in the bulls. This year the ladies will enjoy the company of Hereford bulls.

As of today, I’ve decided that I LOVE Herefords. I’ve had the privilege of working with Ayrshires, Holsteins, Jerseys, Guernseys, Crosses, Angus, Black Baldies and Herefords.

Herefords are my favorites. Especially this Hereford.

He is as gentle as a good dairy cow, but tuffer. We bought two more just like him from Lotsee at Flying G Ranch… which may have something to do with their temperament. And their beauty.

If I want them to load up in the trailer, all I have to do is ask and they mosey on inside. All the other breeds fire manure out their back ends in protest to loading in a trailer while using every split second to plot their escape, even if it means ending my life in the process.

And when it comes time for branding… they’re tuff as nails.

It took me a while to understand why cows needed branding. Now I understand completely.

Ear tags fall off.

Brands don’t.


Fences break.

Cows escape.

Typically if a cow or bull escapes, they go looking for another herd. If they find that other herd and get mixed up with said herd, you’ll want to be able to rightfully claim your cow. Especially if it’s a nice, cuddly Hereford bull like this.

 

I love comments!

