Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A Guest for Breakfast June 16, 2011

Filed under: Country Life,Musings,Nature,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 6:35 pm
Tags: , ,

A few days ago, while looking for night crawlers, my middle child stumbled upon a middle-aged box turtle. And of course, he wanted to keep it. Being the good mom that I am, I said, “No.”

He whined and begged and pleaded.

I responded, “Absolutely not.”

Don’t get the wrong idea. I love turtles. I truly do. I think they are wonderful creatures.

You see, my middle child already has 3 very small red-eared sliders in a bucket in his room. The line had to be drawn somewhere.

Plus, on the numerous occasions that I have tried to cage a wild turtle and cater to its needs, I have failed. Mainly in the food department. And for fear of starving them to death, I let them go.

So my 6-year-old reluctantly let the passing turtle go on its way.

This morning, when I was on my morning jog, I saw the same little box turtle making his way down the drive toward the house.

Being the good mom that I am, I told my middle child that his turtle had come for breakfast.

So he generously served him one of the night crawlers he had in his bait bucket.

The turtle graciously gobbled it right up.

Not wanting to use up all his bait on a passing turtle, or send our guest on his way with a half empty stomach, he went digging through the fridge for some tasty fruit.

Hence the cherry.

Then he was gone. Leaving us nothing but a pool of cherry juice and a pit.

 

One Response to “A Guest for Breakfast”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Cute! I built a turtle run today in the million degree heat for our little guy. So far, he’s happy as a clam…only he’s a turtle.


I love comments!

