Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Nana’s Fresh Pickled Cucumbers June 28, 2011

Filed under: Gardening,Recipes,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:30 pm

As soon as my cucumber seeds sprout up above the ground, I install a handy-dandy trellis made of beautiful hog wire. This year, the hog wire is secured to two random metal stake-like pieces I found in one of the ranch house barns that didn’t have a purpose until now.

The ranch house barns are full of ‘things’ whose purpose is yet to be unveiled.

Like this item.

At first I thought it was an old cash register. Then I realized there were only numerous numerals and absolutely no mathematical symbols or signs.

And of course there are items like this layin’ around.

If you know what it is, please let me know. Otherwise, I’m sure a use will arise in the future. I’m thinking it would make an interesting door stop.

Where was I going with this?

Oh, yeah. Cucumbers.

So Once I get the fancy cucumber trellis in place, I wait for the cucumbers to climb the vertical ladder to bear fruit.

And when they do, I pick them and make Nana’s Fresh Pickled Cucumbers.

Here’s the recipe:

2-3 Cucumbers, sliced
1 Onion, sliced
1 Cup Water
1 Cup Vinegar
1 Cup Sugar

Combine water, vinegar and sugar in bowl. Stir to dissolve sugar. Add sliced cucumbers and onion. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours.

I usually add another round of cucumbers to liquid before discarding. By then it looses some of its pungency.

 

I love comments!

