Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Hay, It’s Entertainment August 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 6:48 pm


Hard to believe summer is over.

I just recently unloaded my camera’s SD card onto my computer. It was chock-full of fun summer memories.

Many involving hay.

Fighting on hay bales.

Running on hay bales.

Jumping on hay bales.

Cheap entertainment… Unless you consider the cost of hay this year.

Then, it’s quite expensive.

But fortunately, we were recently blessed with some nice showers. They filled our dry ponds and gave the parched vegetation a much needed drink.

And watered my dead garden.

A few days after the first good rain, my grandfather (Papa) texted me at daybreak and said simply, “Plant corn.”

So I grabbed my serendipity seed from the freezer, ran outside in my PJ’s and planted two crooked rows minutes before the oncoming thunderstorm. Then I texted him back and informed him the job had been done.

He texted me back and told me to plant two more rows.

So I did.

And it sprouted.

In the coming weeks, I will weed the corn, water the corn, pick the corn and shuck the corn. And guess who will help me eat the corn?

Papa. As well as the rest of my family.

And that’s ok.

Because I love to feed my family. The only thing I love more than feeding my family is when my family feeds me.

Recently, my husband and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary. He took me out to a fancy restaurant, complete with fancy cloth napkins, good bread and juicy steaks.

I got him a Texas Fence Fixer.

 

4 Responses to “Hay, It’s Entertainment”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Love it! Congratulations on your anniversary (bet Rick would like one of those fence fixers lol)! Have missed your blogging – good to see you back 😉

  2. cindy Says:

    Love the Big Red Hen reference. Wyatt loves that book! You are truly a Proverbs 31 woman! Congrats on your anniversary…and great gift idea! I bet David keeps that forever…and actually uses it! LOL!


I love comments!

