Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Simple Cheddar Pear Pie September 7, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 3:22 pm
Tags: , ,

When I think of the holidays, I think of turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, gravy, hot rolls, and every side dish imaginable. And then…

There’s dessert.

I LOVE the variety of desserts around the holidays.

Unfortunately, I’m not always up to the task of preparing said variety. That’s why I’m always on the lookout for quick, satisfying recipes to round out a spectacular holiday meal.

This Simple Cheddar Pear Pie recipe fits the bill.

It’s quick, it’s easy, it’s simple, it’s light, and it’s got 3 of the basic food groups.

Did I mention it’s a cinch?

Forget that the recipe calls for canned pears.

Forget that store-bought pastry can be used in place of the homemade crust.

And let the simple goodness of this recipe shine without telling a single soul!

(For the record, I’ve tried it with fresh pears. And believe me when I say, it’s not worth the extra effort. The end results are hardly noticeable. I do, however, always nestle the filling into a homemade crust. It makes me feel better about serving canned pears.)

Here’t is:
Cheddar Pear Pie
2 (29 ounce) cans pear halves, sliced
1/4 cup sugar
3 Tablespoons cornstarch
dash salt
1 Pastry Shell (homemade or store-bought)

Topping:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup Cheddar Cheese, shredded

Begin by mixing topping. In a small bowl, combine melted butter, sugar, salt, flour and cheese. Mix until crumbly. Set aside.

Bake unfilled pastry shell about 5 min. in 425 oven. I’ve found that if I don’t bake the crust a bit before adding the filling, it turns out soggy. While crust is baking, drain canned pears in a colander. Slice pear halves into large bowl. Stir in sugar, cornstarch and salt. Dump into the warm pastry shell, top with cheddar crumble topping. Cover edges of crust with foil or pie ring to prevent over browning. Bake at 425 for about 22 minutes or until filling is bubbly and top is done, but not overly browned.

 

2 Responses to “Simple Cheddar Pear Pie”

  1. I love fruit and cheese together. And in a pie? This sounds fabulous!


I love comments!

