Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Loaded Potato Soup September 9, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Piper Long @ 9:08 am
Tags: ,

I don’t make soup very often.

And when I do make soup, it’s usually as a side dish to a meal. But this Loaded Potato Soup can sometimes stand in as an entire meal as long as I load it up and serve it with crusty french bread.

Perfect for those cooler days and just what the doctor ordered for those pesky sore throats.

Loaded Potato Soup

5 slices thick cut bacon, cut up
1 Onion, diced
2 Tablespoons flour
1 can chicken broth
3 cups water
1 cup heavy cream
5 cups potatoes, cubed
Salt
Pepper
Cheddar cheese, optional
Chives, optional

Cook bacon pieces in your soup pot until crisp. Drain bacon pieces on paper towel, taste one to ensure properly cooked then lock the remaining bits up in a safe in your kitchen cabinet until soup is finished cooking. Saute onion in bacon drippings. Once tender, add 2 Tablespoons of flour to make a roux. Stir in chicken broth and water. Add potatoes and boil until tender. Pour in heavy cream. Season to taste with salt and pepper and top with bacon, cheddar cheese and chives.

I love to serve this soup with a slice or two of toasted french bread.

I love the fresh loaves of french bread from our local grocery store. But we usually don’t finish an entire loaf before it goes bad. So I started sticking it in my freezer and pulling it out to slice up just what we need for the meal. I slice the still frozen bread, butter it and stick the frozen, buttered bread under the broiler until golden brown. Turns out perfect every time. And you’d never know it had been frozen.

 

8 Responses to “Loaded Potato Soup”

  1. I don’t make soup too often either, but like you I have some cracking recipes up my sleeves. This looks really really great. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. that looks so good. We will have to give it a try sometime with our new potatoes. My husband would lovvvvee it.

  3. Kim Says:

    I’m making this tonight! Yum-O!

  4. Lady bonbon Says:

    This actually looks really tasty! Shame I can’t eat potatoes on my diet /:


I love comments!

