Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Sundays, continued September 12, 2011

Filed under: Country Life,cows,Musings,ranching — Piper Long @ 9:15 am
Tags: , , , ,

Speaking of Sunday mornings, yesterday I helped my husband sort out a few cows that needed to be taken to the Monday sale at the Tulsa Stockyards. It all went quite smooth. In fact, we got the cows to the sale and ended up moving an Angus bull to another pasture without any problems. None whatsoever.

It was actually a bit dull.

So upon returning from the Tulsa Stockyards, we decide to move the creep feeder (which is a self feeder for young calves) into another pen. Without disassembling it.

To make things more exciting, I attempted to load this feeder onto the flatbed trailer with nothing but my chin.

Translation:
My gargantuan biceps had an uncharacteristic moment of inadequacy, forcing my chin to take over. It didn’t go so well. Blood immediately began spewing.

My boys were horrified, the cows unconcerned, me in shock.

Once I got the bleeding under control, I found it was only a minor cut. Nevertheless, I think I will start carrying a first aid kit in a fanny pack around my waist at all times. But first, I’ll need to find a fanny pack.

Do they even still make fanny packs?

On second thought, I’ll just start taking my purse with me to work cows.

Once my biceps recovered from their moment of fatigue, we were able to get the feeder to its intended location. After topping off the creep feeder with some fresh grain, we sat back to admire our accomplishments.

And that’s when we realized the bull we had moved earlier was no longer contained in his new pasture.

It feels so much better to have a normal Sunday.

 

4 Responses to “Sundays, continued”

  1. Tammy Says:

    That sounds eventful. I hope you’re feeling better.

  2. “My boys were horrified, the cows unconcerned, me in shock.” This sentence made my day. 😀 Honestly, I love your wittiness and how much you live with nature. I’ll add you to my blog roll now so I’ll find back here frequently!


I love comments!

