Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Groucho and Lamb Chops September 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 8:04 am
Tags:

I started homeschooling this year and so far, I think I’m enjoying it more than my children.

I love seeing them learn.
I love watching them think.
And I love that I get to teach them.

Recently, my youngest little man came to me, apple in hand, and asked in the sweetest little voice I’d ever heard, “Mommy, can I have dis apple?”

I’m not sure if it was the sweetness in his voice or the vibrant redness of the apple that set the spark, but suddenly I recalled a childhood memory from one of my most favorite shows of all time. For a moment, I was transported to another time. A time of jellyshoes, blisters, legwarmers and Shari Lewis.

Sigh.

I fondly remembered the characters with nostalgia…. Lamb Chops, Hush Puppy and Charlie Horse. Sweet Charlie Horse.

Impulsively, I grabbed the apple and bit into it.

And just as my little man was about to question my actions, I turned the apple around and watched as his eyes lit up at the sight of his apple that was now no longer just an apple…

…but a puppet brought to life from a vague memory of a Shari Lewis episode.

Once it came to life, it didn’t take long for the apple puppet to multiply. Soon there were three. And almost instinctively they all knew every word of John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt.

 

11 Responses to “Groucho and Lamb Chops”

  1. kim Says:

    I wondered what you guys were doing for school. I bet they’re learning more and better things by staying home on the ranch.

  2. Homeschooling! Wow, kudos to you. Hope your decision has been accepted by those around you. I know most people who don’t understand homeschooling usually have a lot to say on the subject.

    On another note, I’ve been curious about how you came up with the title of Barefoot Indian. Do you have some Native American heritage? My childhood friend had about 1/16th Native American, as well as her two sisters, but she was the only one with the tanner skin, dark coarse hair and brown eyes. The other sister has blonde hair and blue eyes, and the youngest brown/blonde hair and green eyes.

    • Yes, we’ve met some resistance on my side of the family on the homeschooling issues, but now that we have made the committment, they are more accepting.

      I am Native American! I am Osage and my husband is Cherokee. It’s funny how the physical characteristics play out! We were shocked that our children had such a mix of hair color/skin tones! Sounds a lot like your friend’s family!

      There is a story about the title, The Barefoot Indian, and you can read about it here. I also got around to redoing my ‘about’ page this weekend to reference the story!

  3. I loved this post! So sweet and funny. My closest friend has homeschooled all of her kids (she has seven!) and she wouldn’t trade it for the world. I really do bow down to anyone who does it.

  4. Oh, I love the apple face! 😀

    So, do you teach your children at home completely? They don’t visit a public school? And do you teach them yourself? This sounds amazing! I don’t even know whether that would be possible in Germany due to compulsory education.


I love comments!

