Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A Girl on the Ranch September 26, 2011

Filed under: Musings,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 9:12 am
Tags: , ,

I always enjoy having people out to the ranch for the fist time. And I especially love when those people are children who have never been on a ranch before. This weekend, my boys had a few friends over, and surprisingly, one of the boys’ sister wanted to tag along.

No one was more excited about this than me!

My excitement soon turned to panic as I realized I hadn’t been around a young girl in many years. I wasn’t sure I remembered how to do girlie things.

Luckily, she was game for anything, including a trip to the creek for some fishing.

I couldn’t help but smile at some of the things she said along the way. It reminded me of myself at one point in time. Here are a few of my favorite quotes:

“Ugh! I just hit a tree.”

“Ew! I just stepped in poop!”

“I fell in.” (…the creek)

“SNAKE!!”

“Oh! What a pretty flower!”

“I think it was a girl cause it didn’t have that stuff on its head.” (…on seeing a doe)

“What’s a doe?”

“A who?” (…on catching a carp)

“How do you get your cows to stay in without a fence?”

“You meant to say resting, right?” (…on telling her the chickens were roosting.)

“It’s a snake egg!”

I love girls. I think I need one.

 

7 Responses to “A Girl on the Ranch”

  1. Kendall Johns Says:

    I’m sure there are plenty of parents around that would let you borrow theirs! I like to borrow my girls, then I can send them back home.

  2. kim Says:

    You can borrow mine!!! We’d actually love to come see your ranch!

  3. Hahaha, this is hilarious! I never was very “girlie”, but I may have made some of those utterings as well as a child. 🙂

  4. Lol! This is so cute-I can just see all this unfolding. Sounds so much like my daughter-she definitely wasn’t “girlie” when she was little. Now she’s a city chick and very “girlie”, but when she comes home to the country, she’s right back to jeans and cowboy boots!


I love comments!

