Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Chocolate Double Pecan Pie September 29, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 7:55 am
Tags: ,

The farm is not only a great source of pasture land for the cattle, it’s also home to an abundance of pecan trees. Each year, after the first hard frost, I spend much of my spare time gathering pecans by hand. I have them cracked and shelled at the local feed store, then I take them home and start picking them out.

Chocolate Double Pecan Pie is one of my family’s favorite ways to enjoy the fresh pecans.

Chocolate Double Pecan Pie

1 (9″) unbaked pie shell
3 Tbl. butter, melted
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs, beaten
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 cups pecan pieces

Melt butter in a microwave safe bowl. Add corn syrup and sugar. Mix well. Stir in beaten eggs. Fold in chocolate chips and pecan pieces. Pour into unbaked pie shell. Cover edges of pie with a pie crust shield or tin foil. Bake at 375 for 10 min. Then decrease temperature to 350 and bake an additional 35 min. or until center is completely set. Remove pie crust shield 10 min. prior to removing pie from oven. Let cool before serving.

 

6 Responses to “Chocolate Double Pecan Pie”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    That looks great! I am not a huge fan of chocolate or pecans–but everyone else is in the family! Hope everything is going well!

  2. Oh my! This looks like heaven on a plate to me!

  3. This looks really really great!

  4. Kim Says:

    How did I miss this? One of my favorite combinations…chocolate and nuts. YUM.


I love comments!

