Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A Fishing Date October 5, 2011

Filed under: Country Life,Fishing — Piper Long @ 9:49 pm
Tags: , ,

This evening, my husband and I found ourselves alone, without any of the boys. It was a rare occurrence.

After being on the dozer all day, I was certain he’d want to kick back, relax and watch a movie while I fixed T-bone steaks and creamy mashed potatoes for dinner.

Instead he asked if I wanted to go fishing.

“Fishing?” I asked.

It took me a little off guard. I was already washing the soil off the new potatoes I’d stashed in the cellar during the hot summer months. I had been admiring how surprisingly preserved the potatoes were and wondering how much longer our supply would last.

Plus I was hungry.

But we hadn’t been fishing in quite some time. At least not without a bunch of line-tanglers tagging along.

“Sure,” I replied. “I’d love to.”

So we took off down the newly cleared trail, passing a turtle and a grass snake along the way.

Neither of us were in the mood to clean any fish. This was a catch and release fishing date.

My husband caught a few nice bass near the riffles at the creek.

I didn’t get their picture.

But I did whip out the camera to get a picture of this little cutie.

While my husband worked his way up the creek, I found myself admiring the scenery…. the rocks, the trees, the trickling of the water, and the native plants.

Some plants I’d seen before.

Some I hadn’t.

This one was new to me.

I always wondered what the Indian’s used for drinking and blowing spitballs.

 

8 Responses to “A Fishing Date”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    I miss that place, so many good memories fishing there. I don’t even like fishing anymore…it takes too much patience. I am sure you all had a blast–sounds like it was a date night, without the boys that is.

  2. What a lovely idea to go fishing together! ๐Ÿ™‚ I sometimes went fishing with my Dad when I was younger (he still goes a lot), and I always enjoyed the peacefulness at the water and the nature around me.

  3. That is one beautiful creek. And what a great date! I am impressed. -kate

  4. Reminds me of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band song, “Fishin’ in the Dark.” What a fun, impromptu date night!

  5. pamelablair Says:

    I love your blog! I grew up in a rural area so it hits close to home. What a wonderful family you have. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. creekrose Says:

    horsetail if i’m not mistaken . . ..use it in bundles to scrub/scour pots clean with too :0)


I love comments!

