Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A History of the Farm… in a Magazine October 5, 2011

Once upon a time, the cows and I were in a magazine.

And so was one of my recipes.

I had submitted two of my family’s favorite recipes at the editor’s request.

At the time I didn’t have many recipes with exact measurements, so I settled on the two recipes written with measurements, baking times and pan sizes that gave me consistently satisfying results. They were a bread recipe and a bread pudding recipe.

I’m sure the editor was thrilled with the variety I provided.

In addition to the two recipes, they asked that I hand over my diary for the month.

Not the typical senseless ramblings of my thoughts and emotions type of diary, mind you, but rather the diary that I write in daily which pertains to farm and ranch living.

Hence the name of the magazine, Farm & Ranch Living. We were featured in the Oct/Nov 2005 issue.

I was 25 years old.

25. Years. Old.

When I only had one stretch mark.

And my babies were babies. With baby fat. And clean kissable toes.

sniff, sniff, sob

That’s my middle child in the playpen at 18 months of age.

He will be 7 next month.

I started by introducing our family and the history of the farm. Here’s an excerpt:

“The farm’s history goes back to 1907 when my grandfather’s grandfather… was allotted… [land] within the Osage Indian Reservation…. In the early 1920’s, my great aunt built the home where we live, but sold the property during the Great Depression. In 1956, my grandfather was able to get the farm back and began to renovate it…By 2000, the farm was devastated, not only by years of neglect due to my grandfather’s poor health, but also by a 1991 tornado that destroyed all of the barns and acres of pecan trees.”

We purchased the farm from my grandfather in October 2000 and began constructing barns, installing new fencing, planting crops and updating the historic home.

The magazine documented our daily activities from July 11 through August 10th. And despite the few minor inaccurate accounts, it is something that I enjoy looking back on.

It is also a huge part of why I’m writing this blog.

 

6 Responses to “A History of the Farm… in a Magazine”

  1. WOW! This is so cool. The magazine, the history…I love it all. I can only imagine what a huge undertaking this was for your little family. You should be so proud of all of your hard work and dedication…not to mention, keeping the farm in your family. Just awesome.

  2. Clydia Kay Says:

    Very cool!

  3. That’s so cool! And hey, bread and pudding, those count as different! Just, you know, keeping a strong bread theme going!

  4. I grew up reading those farm diaries in magazines scattered around our farmhouse and loved them. I miss them now, far away from my family, farm, and farmhouse. So glad you are blogging and I can read this version of your story. Technology can be such a good thing. -kate


I love comments!

