Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Rattleless Rattlesnake October 7, 2011

Filed under: Musings,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:28 am

Sometimes it takes me a while to get going in the mornings. I’d like to be one of those people that hops out of bed before daylight with all the zest and energy that I have a little later in the morning. But in all reality, I’m just a dreamer.

It will likely never happen.

Yesterday, I was driving down our gravel road, chauffeuring my children to one of their many activities when I passed what I thought was a stick in the middle of the road. Noting the absence of any trees in the very near vicinity, I realized it must have been a snake. Wanting to educate my children on the varieties of native species, I decided to back up and take a safe look.

By this time, the snake was nearing the edge of the road, but it was still within sight. It was a rattlesnake… and the tail, as well as the rattle, had been smashed. But the snake was still very much alive and proceeded to slither into the grassy ditch.

That evening, I tucked all the kids into bed and then resigned to prepare myself for another slothful awakening. But before I woke, I dreamed about the rattleless rattlesnake that I was subconsciously concerned of having roam free on the ranch. I dreamed it was trying to warn us before it struck, but we couldn’t hear the rattle because it didn’t have one.

Then I woke up and realized the reason for my need to stare at the ceiling for at least 15 minutes before getting out of bed each morning. I’m sorting out my dreams. Deciphering what is real and trying to make sense of what is most often a dream.

But this dream wasn’t just a dream. It was a rude awakening to the reality of the situation.

The reality being that there is now a rattleless rattlesnake on the loose.

Which gives me even more of an excuse not to get out of bed in the mornings.

It’s just too dangerous out there.

 

8 Responses to “Rattleless Rattlesnake”

  1. I quite agree. I’d would much rather stay snug as a bug in my warm bed then face the dangers of the world most mornings. =)

  2. haha! This made me smile. Picture the snake in your bed; that should get you outta there in the mornings!

  3. thedairymaid Says:

    You are a braver soul than I for even getting out of the car to look at it!

  4. I’ve given up long ago to try to adjust to early mornings. I’m an owl. Every morning when I wake up, I have 10 minutes of absolute peace lying in my bed still sleepy and dreamy, until I gradually remember the following things: who I am, where I am, what I am to do here, and that I shall get up now. (I wonder if I could “reprogram” myself in those 10 minutes when my mind is so innocent, to get rid of some nasty habits.)

    The rattlesnake story makes me sad. I feel so sorry for that rattleless rattlesnake! 😦

  5. Kindred spirits! I get sick of hearing myself saying, “watch where you’re walking, ” to my kiddo. I passed a rattlesnake yesterday morning on my way to open the gate for the horses–I jumped and screamed like a girl. Luckily, it was dead. Not very, though. I think it was frozen from the overnight cold. When my husband got home I showed him the snake, he smashed its head to be sure and cut the rattle off. My daughter now displays the rattle with her rock collection in her room, ick!


I love comments!

