Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Sideboard Makeover October 10, 2011

Filed under: Home and Garden,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 8:29 am

I got a little impatient over the weekend.

And I made over my sideboard.

I realize this isn’t exactly the turquoise we all agreed on.

Hence the impatient aspect of the whole makeover. I just couldn’t stand looking at my brown sideboard another minute. And I certainly couldn’t survive staring at it another month which is likely the time frame it would take me to mull over the gazillion shades of turquoise I’d have to choose from before deciding that I couldn’t decide on the perfect shade of turquoise only to end up doing absolutely nothing to the brown sideboard.

I’ve had this paint color since spring, but never used it on anything. I have no idea what color it is.

But I think it looks just dandy on the sideboard.

I decided to sand the top since the finish was chipping away. I then applied Special Walnut stain, again, because I already had it. I’m going to follow-up with a few coats of polyurethane.

I still need to find new hardware, but I’m using some old hardware for at least a month which is likely the time frame it will take me to mull over the gazillion types of hardware I have to choose from.

If you’ll notice, I used many of my husband’s choice decor items to adorn the top in the hopes that I would win his approval. I highly recommend this tactic.

(The deer sheds on top have all been found on the ranch within the last few months.)

 

10 Responses to “Sideboard Makeover”

  1. Donna Says:

    I’m all about using what I have available. Good Job. You might want to repurose the mirror and lamp also. I approve of the decor on top. Much more interesting.
    Donna

  2. Skuba Says:

    Fantabulous job. That color is perfect. Very nice fall decor also. By the way have you ever checked out the blog Better After. This is a project that would belong there.

  3. Amanda Says:

    Amazing!!! You have a great eye!

  4. I must say that I do like those antlers, they defiantly ad an aspect of earthy-ness to the environment 🙂

  5. kim Says:

    Love it!!!

  6. Nonstepmom Says:

    Love this, great job (also great accessorizing tip)!


I love comments!

