Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

I’m allergic. November 15, 2011

Filed under: Musings — Piper Long @ 1:17 pm

Last night, I made my family a nice, healthy meal of pork tenderloin, cheesy broccoli, creamy mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Normally I am just sitting down as everyone is finishing up, but this time, I had tasted my fill during the preparation of the meal, so I busied myself with the dishes while the boys ate their fill.

Sooner than it took me to prepare the meal, it was gone and the boys were clearing their plates from the table, when my seven-year-old brought me his plate with nothin on it but a heap of broccoli in a pool of cheese sauce.

“Why didn’t you eat your broccoli?” I asked, surprised my good eater hadn’t cleaned his plate completely.

“I’m allergic to broccoli,” he starts, raising his hand to show me his natural reaction to the vegetable. “See,” he says with a concerned look on his face, “it makes my fingers do this.”

My brothers and I inherited double joints from the Native American side of my family, so seeing my little Indian come to me with this newfound ability reaction was of little surprise. It reminded me of Micheal J Fox in Teen Wolf and the family’s shared ability to transform into werewolves, only not nearly as interesting.

“So… this only happens when you eat broccoli?” I asked, playing along.

“Uh-huh,” he says with an innocent, disappointed look on his face.

I raise my hand and position my double joints at eye level, examining my own reaction to having eaten the broccoli. “To think all these years, I thought it was just hereditary,” I say, watching his eyes light up at the sight of our shared talent.

We both laugh and he runs off to test the rest of the family’s joints, discovering that his double joints are much sharper than those of his older brother. His little brother, we decided, was too young to tell. And his Dad… well, he didn’t eat any broccoli.

 

8 Responses to “I’m allergic.”

  1. cindy Says:

    Double jointed fingers. Another thing we have in common. You, my dear, are truly a talented writer…I love your posts!

  2. Skuba Says:

    Daughter is now 2 and we are excited we are learning what bar tricks she actually inherited from us or if it skipped. We already know she can curl her tounge which her daddy can’t do but can she do a 4 leaf clover like her aunt or did the whistling jean skip her like it skipped my sister. Maybe we will wait a while before we teach her they are called bar tricks, at least thats what our family calls them.

  3. Haha! I have several in my house who claim to be allergic to broccoli, too!

  4. This is so sweet! I loved your description of how you showed your son your own double joints. (And the picture added a lot to the story. Eek!) 🙂 Plus this line, “Sooner than it took me to prepare the meal, it was gone” is so true, isn’t it?

  5. He’s too cute. I love the things children can come up with to avoid whatever it is they have decided they don’t like. When my son was in early elementary school, he hated it. One day he RAN quickly to the teacher and said she needed to call his mom to come and get him as he was sick. When she asked what was wrong he said, ‘I think I broke my leg.’ She said she had to excuse herself as she laughed so hard at the unexpected answer but didn’t want him to know it. I still chuckle at some of the things he came up with. Keep sharing.

  6. Kids are ingenious when it comes to excuses for not eating their veg. Love the double jointedness!

  7. I loved this little story! And I didn’t know about the double joints before! I can also do that, but far not as much! Maybe I should eat some broccoli and then try again? 😉


I love comments!

