Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

A Little Help November 21, 2011

Filed under: Musings,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 12:18 pm

I’ve had this book laying on my bedside table, along with two other books, novels to be exact, for the last month or so, and I just picked it up a few days ago to once again dust around it, and just for thoroughness, inside it, only to find myself reading the first page and never again returning it to the bedside table.

For the last few days, it went with me to the kitchen to cook, just in case I had a spare moment, which I didn’t. It went with me to town, just in case I had some down time in traffic, which I didn’t. It went with me to the farm, just in case I got a break and needed something to do, which I didn’t.

Which is why it took me five days to read it.

If it were up to me, I would have never put it down. But my boys claim they must eat three meals a day to survive and for some reason they also need to learn something during the day, so my reading time was limited.

I’m sure many of you have already read this book, The Help, but for those of you who haven’t, I highly recommend it.

In other news, my husband has informed me that the new squeeze shoot he recently purchased for the farm was purchased with my biceps in mind. His enthusiasm in the ease of operating the new shoot was shattered when he discovered that I wasn’t able to budge the head gate with both hands supported by the entirety of my body weight.

Nevertheless, at some point in the near future, I will be assisting him in the working of the cattle at the farm and will need to figure out a way to manage the head gate.

At this point, my only plan of action is to incorporate plenty of caramel cake into my diet in an effort to increase my body mass to support my biceps in operating the head gate.

Your prayers are appreciated.

 

10 Responses to “A Little Help”

  1. I so enjoyed that book, too. I read it after watching the movie in theater, and it’s one of the few instances where I am glad I did.

  2. thedairymaid Says:

    I’ve seen the movie and really liked it, but I haven’t read the book yet. My friend read it before she went to see the movie, and of course, said the book was better. Seems like it always is…

  3. cindy Says:

    All of the caramel cake in the world ain’t gonna make a difference, you teeny little thang.

  4. Pattie Park Says:

    Piper, I read the book also. I happened to see it at my sister-n-law’s shop and ask if I could borrow it. It was great!! I stayed up almost all night to read it. I found out the next day that I was to old to pull all nighters anymore..lol About the head gate…You’ll figure out how to get it to move…I did and my biceps aren’t so great..Plenty of oil and WD40!! lol Love reading everything you write. Keep up the great work..Tell the boys “HI”

    • I hear ya on the all nighters!! So relieved to know there is hope with the head gate! I’m going to buy some lube now! And I know you helped your hubby with the fence at the farm… so I’m hoping I can handle helping with the fence at the ranch… it’s the rocks and hills that I’m concerned about! My motto is, “If Pattie can do it, then maybe I can too!!”

  5. “But my boys claim they must eat three meals a day to survive and for some reason they also need to learn something during the day, so my reading time was limited.” I hear you, Piper! I’ve got that same book on my bedside table — I’m a hair’s breadth away from starting it. Now I know I’ve got to carve out a chunk of time before I begin. Hmmm… What should wait. Laundry? Dishes? I’m sure I’ll find something. 🙂

  6. I had a similar experience with this book- saw it around, wasn’t excited, then started and just gulped it down in a couple nights. It was a good one. -kate


I love comments!

