Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Apple Cake With Caramel Cream Frosting November 21, 2011

So after reading the book, The Help, I realized I’ve never wanted a cake I’ve never had, as much as I wanted the Caramel Cake mentioned throughout the book. The Internet offered some delicious Caramel Cake recipes, but after careful review, I decided the cake that I truly wanted was my family’s favorite Apple Cake along with a Caramel Cream Frosting.

It was every bit as satisfying as I’d hoped it’d be. The Caramel Cream Frosting fit the bill for what I wanted, but I must admit that I still like my traditional method of cooking it better than this variation. I’ll explain below.

Apple Cake
2 cups sugar
2 cups flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
3 small eggs
1 cup canola oil
4 apples, thinly sliced (any kind will do, I used Red Delicious)

Combine sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add vanilla, eggs and oil. Stir to combine. Batter will be very thick.

Fold in the thinly sliced apples.

Transfer to a 13 x 9 cake pan and bake in a preheated 350 oven for 60 minutes. This will give you plenty of time to clean up the mess which, when complete, will make you almost as happy as the icing on the cake.

Icing/Frosting/Happiness/Caramel Cream Frosting
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup whipping cream or canned evaporated milk
2 Tbl butter

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and cook until mixture reaches the soft ball stage. Remove from heat and pour over warm cake. Serve.

Or

What I like even better as a variation on the cooking method of this frosting is heating the ingredients in the saucepan just to combine, but instead of boiling the mixture until it reaches the soft ball stage on the cooktop, I remove the saucepan from the heat once the mixture boils and immediately pour the hot frosting over the hot cake, then put the hot, frosted cake back in the oven, this time under the broiler, and cook until frosting is bubbly and ever so slightly crisp, about 3-5 minutes. But you have to be very careful not to burn it!

 

12 Responses to “Apple Cake With Caramel Cream Frosting”

  1. That looks absolutely incredible. Check out the apple cake I posted today πŸ˜€

  2. kim Says:

    yum either way! and now I want apple cake.

  3. I don’t know that I have the talent for your personal variation πŸ™‚ but the recipe looks fantastic! I have the book, The Help, sitting on my nightstand at this very moment. As soon as I’m done with the one I’m currently reading (a re-read of a Michael Chrichton novel) The Help is next on my list. Now I’m even more excited to read it!

    Best wishes for a Happy Thanksgiving — I’m sure your table will be delicious.

  4. Pany Says:

    That looks fantastic! I’m definitely stealing this recipe :D.

  5. That looks so YUMMY!

    The Help is on my list-my very long list-of books to read. Maybe someday….sigh…

  6. I think apple cake is the best when you mix in the apples instead of topping the cake with them. Now I want to bake apple cake myself! πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, this looks absolutely amazing. I am totally making the recipe as soon as possible.

  8. totsymae1011 Says:

    That looks so delish. And since I’m kind of a health nut, this is kinda healthy for me, right? Well, in moderation, I mean. πŸ™‚


I love comments!

