Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Elf on the Shelf December 2, 2011

Filed under: Favorite Things,Gift Ideas,Musings — Piper Long @ 9:46 am


Last night, our Elf made us elf donuts.

The kids thought they tasted an awful lot like chocolate covered Cheerios.

I think our Elf got the idea from Pinterest.com. Ever since he’s found this website, he’s been doing all sorts of funny things. I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

Our first elf was introduced to us through my dear sister-in-law, Debbie, about four years ago. He is a welcome addition to our family during the Christmas season, which is the only time of the year he is with us. He comes with a book explaining his purpose, to monitor the children’s behavior for Santa, reporting back to him each night. The children take this all very seriously, although the older ones are beginning to ask some suspicious questions.

Around Thanksgiving, the kids start asking when the elf will return, worrying that he might not realize we moved.

Come December, without fail, he returns… no matter where we might be.

Each December morning is met with excitement and surprise as the children search for the elf. He may be under the tree coloring a page out of a new Christmas coloring book. Or sitting next to the warm fire with a miniature cup of hot cocoa. Or my personal favorite, making a snow angel out of powdered sugar. The ideas are infinite.

I am so grateful that my sister-in-law took the initiative to pass along this tradition to our young family. I will forever be passing it on as well.

 

15 Responses to “Elf on the Shelf”

  1. Pany Says:

    Fantastic! I also love traditions and try to pass them on to all my family.

  2. I love your chocolate covered cheerios as elf donuts. How cute! I believe creating family traditions is so, so important and I love “elf on a shelf”. Next year I think we’ll get one.

  3. That is so stinkin’ cute! What a fabulous memory maker for your kids! Just Awesome.
    Happy Friday!
    ~d.

  4. Ohhhh, I love this! What an amazing tradition you are passing on to your kids-and the precious memories they will ALWAYS have. Now, about Pinterest…I am just getting started, and love the ideas. BUT….so much to look at, and sooooo little time….

    • Pinterest is a great way to discover new ideas and it can be overwhelming at first. Soon you will find your friends and find people with similar interests and you won’t have to take the time to sift through so much! And I don’t pin everything I like… rather only the things that I want to actually utilize later. It takes a lot less time once you get set up.

  5. That sounds like so much fun. I wish I had thought of it when my son was younger. But this kind of fun and family oriented post is just one of the reasons I gave you an award – the Liebster Award. See today’s post for the details and congratulations.

  6. Those elf doughnuts are pretty insanely cute. What a neat tradition. -kate

  7. I love that you have a family elf! He seems to be clever and share your kind of humor when he offers choc cheerios as elf doughnuts. 😉


I love comments!

