Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Cowboy Gift Ideas December 13, 2011

Filed under: Gift Ideas,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 2:10 pm
Tags: ,

I love being able to do my Christmas shopping from the comfort of my home. It’s one of life’s greatest luxuries.

I typically do much of my Christmas shopping through Amazon.com simply because it is one stop shopping with reviews on EVERYTHING. But this year, a few of my cowboy Christmas gifts are going to come from the Big Bend Saddlery catalog.

Here are a few items on the list:

1. Chaps
Because all cowboys need chaps.


2. Plammer Plus
Pliers + Hammer = Matchmadeinheaven

3. Barbwire Grip
A tool to make stretching barbed wire easier.

4. Ranch Album
An old cowboy movie for the tired cowboy to watch after a hard day’s work.

5. Pitchfork Country
A beautiful book featuring the photography of Bob Moorehouse, portraying ranch life in Northwest Texas.

We already have quite a few cowboy coffee table books that we love. If the cowboy on your list doesn’t have them, you may want to consider giving one of these interesting non-fiction titles:

1. Legendary Ranches (Western Horseman)

2. Tied Hard and Fast

3. Portrait of a Texas Ranch

4. Under One Fence

Not only do we own all of these books, but we read all of these books over and over and occasionally lend them out to our beloved family and friends. You can find them all and many more at http://www.bigbendsaddlery.com/books.html.

 

11 Responses to “Cowboy Gift Ideas”

  1. I spent a year of my life in Idaho — which is where I attended my first rodeo. Other than that year, I’ve never seen people walking around wearing chaps and fixing barbed wire fences. Which is one reason why I love your blog. It’s just amazing! Every time I stop by I catch a glimpse of your Modern Pioneer lifestyle and it just knocks me back a pace. I’m in awe of all you do, and the life lessons you are teaching your boys.

  2. cindy Says:

    Think there’s room up there for a small little country house? I’d trade you the rest of my life’s worth of ranch hand work, along with my little cowboy’s, just to have a reason to have chaps and a plammer on my Christmas shopping list.

  3. Thanks for the book recommendations. I love coffee table books, and since my honey has a farming background, one of these might be just right.

  4. Wow, the plammer is truly awesome. I am overcome by how much sense it makes. -kate

  5. I love the plammers and can think of more than one person these would be perfect for. Merry Christmas.

  6. Hahaha, these gift ideas look amazing! 😀

    Merry Christmas and happy holidays, Piper!

  7. Hi Piper, I awarded you the Candle Lighter award! 🙂 http://wp.me/p1jBAi-yc

  8. Happy New Year to you and your family, Piper! 🙂

  9. Jennifer Says:

    I love Big Bend.. except for the prices. LOL!! My brother’s MIL works there.


I love comments!

