Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Hungry Horse September 13, 2012

Filed under: Country Life,horses,Musings,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 6:36 am
Tags: , , , ,

So, earlier this year, January 10th to be exact, I resolved to start keeping my animals in pens.

Funny thing is, that didn’t happen.

But I did try.

The horses were contained for a few weeks by an electric fence. Then they got word that I was serving half eaten apples on my windowsill and they busted out.

I’m not sure who told them.

Maybe the cats told them.

Or maybe the kids are to blame.

Hungry Horse

I don’t know why homes aren’t built with windowsills like this anymore. They remind me of the walk up window at the Tastee Freeze which my family has owned for generations. I remember as a child having full access to all of the delectable ice cream flavors, toppings and soda varieties imaginable, mixing them all into an insanely delicious concoction edible only to children under no supervision and having my cousin serve said delicacies to me through the walk up window. Then she’d charge me, but I’d have no money and be forced to work the window to pay my debts.

But I didn’t really mind.

I can see why they had these windowsills back in the olden days. They really are a lot of fun. You can serve your cats, your horses, your locked-out children.

summer 2012 082 - Copy

The locked-out children climb up on the windowsill, sweaty from a recent football/wrestling match that had to be taken outside.

Tap, tap, tap.

“Mom?”

I can hear the tapping because the children have been locked out.

“Yes?”

“Can we have a drink?”

“You got any money?”

“No.”

“Well then you can have water. Water’s free.”

I love walk-up windows!

 

3 Responses to “Hungry Horse”

  1. Pattie Park Says:

    Piper,

    Really liked hearing about the Taste Freeze. Brought back a lot of memories for me. I think all the kids in Skiatook hung out there .

  2. Sistor Says:

    Great pic, love it!


I love comments!

