Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Mom’s Crispy, Chewy Oatmeal Cookies October 3, 2012

Filed under: Recipes — Piper Long @ 7:43 am
Tags: , ,

006

These are my family’s favorite oatmeal cookies. They’re crispy, chewy and perfect.

Although I must say, when it comes to oatmeal cookie additions, we are a family divided.

I’ve always been one to like raisins and nuts in my oatmeal cookie. Drover and all three of our offspring prefer oatmeal cookies stuffed with chocolate. So whenever I make oatmeal cookies, I take a bit of the basic batter and add raisins n nuts for me. The rest of the dough is filled with any or sometimes every type of chocolate goody I have on hand.

Here’s how you make ’em:
169
Start by sweetening your butter with sugar.
170
Stir in an egg.
171
Add flour.
172
Salt.
173
Baking soda.
174
And oats.

At this point, you have a perfectly delicious cookie mix, ready to bake.

But if you want to dress them up a bit, you can add…
175
some brickle.
176
Or maybe some semi-sweet chocolate chips!
177
Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 for approximately 10 minutes or until golden brown.
178
Here’s the recipe:

Oatmeal Cookies

makes 15 cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar, tightly packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 cup quick cooking oats
1/4 cup optional goodies (raisins, dried fruit, nuts, chocolate chips or brickle)

Cream together softened butter, sugars and egg. Add vanilla, flour, salt and baking soda. Mix well. Add oats and optional goodies. Stir just until combined.

Drop walnut-sized mounds of dough on cookie sheet. Bake in preheated 350 oven for about 10 minutes.

 

2 Responses to “Mom’s Crispy, Chewy Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. terri Says:

    HEY! You can’t just go around giving out our secret family recipes Barefoot Indian! These are a treasure, remember when your original burned, how much you missed it, or should I say your family. What am I gonna do with you? I’m babysitting Saturday, I might have to hide your recipes!

    • Piper Long Says:

      Hehe! Oh Yeth I can! I have to. It’s my duty to this world. What if you hadn’t been around to give me the recipe, huh? Then what? I would have had to go through upteen different oatmeal cookie recipes before I found one we liked and even THEN it STILL wouldn’t be as good!


I love comments!

