Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

2 out of 3 October 5, 2012

Filed under: Musings,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 7:45 am

When I went to write yesterdays post about gardening, I meant to provide the link to last year’s post about planting garlic in the fall but I got sidetracked by the old gardening pictures and forgot all about it. So if you’ve been thinking you might want to add some variety to your garden by planting garlic, you can read my quick tutorial here.

In my defense though, the old pictures weren’t my only distraction… I had also been interrupted by a phone call from the school which I immediately assumed had to do with one of my children being deathly ill because my children come home from school and tell me things like, ‘Little Joe got sick today and threw up all over the place and teacher didn’t even send him home, he just sat there and kept throwing up and tried to do his work.’

They also tell me that they get detention if they don’t put their name on their paper.

And if they drop their pencil, it’s 2 laps during recess. So they say.

What kind of school is this? I thought. Back in my day we got swats for that type of thing.

But seriously, I truly expected one of my boys to come home and tell me they spent the entire day in the chokey.

For those of you who haven’t seen the movie or read the book, Matilda, you probably don’t quite understand the reference to the chokey, but I will tell you it is not a place that any of the young characters in the movie/book ever wanted to be.

So when I got the call from the school, you can imagine my surprise when they informed me that my oldest boy had been selected to be student of the month and if I had time, which I did, that I could come up and watch him receive the award at the assembly which started in 35 minutes.

This meant that if I was going to make it, I would need to be out of my robe and into some clothes with my hair and makeup somewhat presentable within the next 4.9991 minutes or else I’d miss it altogether.

When I got there, the kids were filing into the gym like single-file angels, taking their seats on the floor, criss-cross-applesauce style.

Being that it is such a small school it took me no time to find my boys in the crowd.

We sat through a short presentation from Smokey the Bear and his assistant concerning the importance of fire prevention. Following the presentation, the football players were introduced and the adorable cheerleaders, in their cheer uniforms, showcased their talents with a quick chant.

It seems to me the teachers have their bluff in on my boys. Football players, cheerleaders and Smokey the Bear would never have been allowed at Matilda’s school, Wormwood Elementary.

Finally, it was time for the principal to announce the student of the month. Turns out, a student from each of the grades, Pre-K through 3rd grade, had been selected as student of the month. As they name one child from each of the grades, I’m pleasantly surprised to hear the name of my middle child announced for his grade as well as the name of my oldest child for his grade.

For those of you that lost count, that’s 2 out of 3 of my children!

66.7% of my children…

More than half my children…

The majority of my children…

Most of my children…
280
If only I could raise that lil’ ‘un right…

 

2 Responses to “2 out of 3”

  1. Nancy Grayson Says:

    So good to see you return. You were missed! Nancy Grayson, Sand Springs, OK


I love comments!

