Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Fight! October 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 12:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

Over the weekend, Drover (aka my husband) saddled me up and took me with him to the farm to assist him in roping a calf that was feeling a little under the weather so we could give her a dose of medicine.

Fortunately this didn’t actually entail me roping the calf or we’d have been in trouble.

That’s where Drover comes in handy.

For him, it seems, roping is innate. In our 14 years together, I’ve never seen him practice his roping skills. It’s always been a spur-of-the-moment-on-the-job type situation.

How he steers his horse and ropes a full grown cow or a wriggly little calf is beyond me.

I didn’t get those genes.

Once the calf was medicated, we decided that the rest of the cows were going to need a little coaxing to get them to go out the gate that we intentionally left open a week ago so that they could access the pasture with grass that was more than a few inches tall.

Here’s the thing with cows and gates.

1. Cows will only go through a gate that has been left open by accident.
2. Cows will only go through a gate that has been left open intentionally if bribed.

It’s reverse psychology.

I think.

Anyway, somewhere along the way, the bulls got into it for one reason or another or no reason at all.
049

Honest to Pete, the pictures do not do this fight justice. The force with which these bulls hit is ridiculous.

053
“Um… excuse me, fellas… but could y’all just scooch over a tad so I can squeeze through the gate there…fellas?”

052

“Ya know, on second thought, I’ll just….try the back way.”

 

I love comments!

