Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Beyond Bird Creek October 18, 2012

Filed under: ranching,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 9:02 am
Tags: , , ,

I love fall. I would love it even more if it didn’t come with colds and allergies.

The other day, I was fighting off my first cold of the season.

I was curled up under a cozy blanket on the couch armed with a box of Kleenex, cold medicine and the remote control. The kids were off to school and the laundry was in the wash when Drover walked in wearing a denim Wrangler shirt, a pair of faded Wrangler jeans and spurs.

“I’m not feeling so good today,” I informed him from the couch where I was irrevocably stationed. “I think I’ve got a cold.”

He sympathized with me for about .45 seconds and said, “Well get your boots on, I wanna show you the land across the creek.”

Drover had been so busy since we moved that he hadn’t had a chance to show me all of the land at the ranch. Exploring the back acreage would knock one more section off the list of places to see out here, plus I’d get some idea of what I’m in for when we start building new fences over there this fall.

“Ok,” I replied, pulling an inordinant amount of 2-ply Kleenex from the tissue box. “But I’ll have to go barefoot. I just painted my toenails.”

He looked at me, glanced down at my bright red toes and gave a sort of nod before clanging his way back outside to saddle the horses.

When I got outside, Drover already had Hoyt saddled for me.
012 - Copy
Hoyt was just a colt when Drover gave him to me, about 15 years ago, while we were still dating. I kept him in the pen just down the hill from my parent’s house, where I would feed and brush and spoil him daily.

048 - Copy
But it was Drover who trained him, eventually breaking him to ride.
043 - Copy
Once we crossed Bird Creek, it was all completely new to me.
062 - Copy

There was pasture land, another creek named Clem Creek and miles of an old railway path which included an old bridge with tunnels.

But I couldn’t get over the view on this ridge.

It’s amazing what you can find in your own back yard!
065 - Copy

I don’t even know where we are in this picture, nor do I know how to get there again.

But I was informed that this would be one of the many places where we will be building fence in the very near future.

078 - Copy
I’m pretty sure if you looked up tranquility in the dictionary, you’d see this picture.

081 - Copy
Or maybe this one.

082 - Copy

If this isn’t enough to make a girl feel better, I don’t know what is.

 

13 Responses to “Beyond Bird Creek”

  1. Jeannie Winton Says:

    Wow! Absolutely gorgeous! I bet you felt better after seeing this scenery!

  2. terri Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! You could be in Colorado!

  3. Katy Says:

    Beautiful pictures! I wish I had this in my backyard. Allergy season is hitting my house, too. I can sympathize with the sniffles.

  4. Dianna Says:

    Hi! Don’t have time to read your post yet (we’re heading to the mountains for the day to see fall foliage!), but thanks for letting me know that the link is fixed! YAY! Looking forward to your blog…!

  5. Dianna Says:

    So pretty! I’m going to have to do some research here on your blog to learn more about you – where you live, etc. I’m sure you forgot about your cold – for awhile- with all this gorgeous scenery!

  6. I didn’t know a world like this still exists. It’s like reading Tom Sawyer.

  7. belocchio Says:

    Keep painting those toe-nails!! The cows will love you for it. The cowboys will adore your little stunners!! Virginia

  8. What a stunningly beautiful place to live. Amazing!
    And, thanks for both liking and following my blog!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna
    http://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com


I love comments!

