Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Crispy Homemade Hash Browns October 22, 2012

Filed under: Recipes — Piper Long @ 7:30 am
Tags: , ,

Before the advent of the internet… before I procured the extra funds to voluntarily relinquish on a monthly basis to satellite TV companies… before cookbooks were invented…

Ok, maybe not that far back…

I made homemade hash browns that were unequivocally disastrous as painfully apparent by their shamefully slimy silhouette.

I couldn’t figure out where I’d went wrong. I had peeled and shredded and pampered my potatoes before frying them in piping hot grease and couldn’t for the life of me understand why I couldn’t attain the golden color that hash browns were so destined to attain.

Hash Browns were supposed to be light, crisp, golden brown ultra-mini french fries.

The hash browns I made resembled densely shredded, dried globs of peppered mush.

I decided right then and there that homemade hash browns were archaic and that the hash browns I’d had in restaurants were clearly of the new age frozen variety which I have been using ever since.

Fast forward 13 years and 127,356,830 cooking shows later… and I finally learned the secret to light, crispy homemade hash browns.

Thank you Sunny Anderson.

And now that Sunny has so kindly divulged the secret, which I’m sure was never really a secret to anyone other than sheltered, isolated ranch wives like myself, I will kindly pass the word on to you all.

You’re welcome.

The secret, you see, is draining the liquid from the seemingly dry enough shreds of potatoes before you fry them.

That’s it!

Here’s my new recipe for Crispy Homemade Hash Browns:

First off, pour enough oil in your skillet to just coat the bottom.

Turn on medium high heat.
086
Then prep your potatoes.
087
If your taters have a thick skin, peel ’em.
088
Next, grab your shredder and start shredding your potatoes. This step goes quicker than you think.
090
Place your shredded hash browns on a clean kitchen towel…
091
wrap them up in a bundle….
093
and squeeze the potato juice out. Sometimes, if I don’t want to dirty a kitchen towel, I just grab a handful at a time and squeeze the juice out little by little.
103
Now you’re potatoes are ready for the frying pan!
058
Simply add them in a thin layer to your hot oil and fry, turning as needed, until golden brown. Remember to season both sides with salt and pepper.
060

Enjoy!

062
Here’s the recipe:

Crispy Homemade Hash Browns

Oil for frying
3 Large Potatoes, peeled, shredded and drained
Salt
Pepper

In a large skillet, add enough oil to coat the bottom. Heat over medium flame. Once oil is hot, add peeled, shredded, drained potatoes to hot oil in a thin layer. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Once the edges begin to brown, flip the hash browns over and brown the other side. Sprinkle once again with salt and pepper. Once brown and crisp, remove from pan and transfer to a paper towel lined plate before serving.

 

7 Responses to “Crispy Homemade Hash Browns”

  1. I’ve been taking the easy road, using frozen. Thanks for the tip…my guys would love for me to take the homemade road!

  2. Making these right this minute…hope they look half as good as yours do when I’m done here!
    ~d.

  3. pixilated2 Says:

    I have been trying for forty years and never got it right. I would try some this morning but I am out of potatoes. Putting them on my grocery list this minute! Thanks Piper, and oh yes, thanks for visiting me today too!
    ~Lynda

  4. Katie Says:

    These look incredible! I’ve ruined my fair share of hash browns – now I know why! Thank you so much, I can’t wait to try this.


I love comments!

