Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

Halloween 2012 November 1, 2012

Filed under: Country Life,kids,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 9:22 am
Tags: , ,

Yesterday Drover was out late working up ground at our farmland just south of the Kansas border, leaving me to corral the kids for a night of trick-or-treating in our small town.
016
My youngest was a ninja.
017
My middle child was a ninja.
019
And my oldest, who’d outgrown his ninja costume, was a storm trooper.
020
My boys have been ninjas for 3 years now and they still haven’t tired of the costumes.

Neither have I.

028

It was our first year trick-or-treating in this small town and I must say, it far exceeded my expectations. The town was booming! There was a dunk tank along with a few Halloween themed carnival games and a car that seems to be haunted in this picture. Where’s the driver?

Kids were piled on trailers, in the back of trucks and even huddled in the back of SUV’s with the hatch wide open driving through town.

027
Cars, trucks and SUVs were lined up along main street, decorated in various themes for an entertaining trunk or treat.

At the end of the line of trunks, we happened upon a walk-through spook house, a first for my young braves. I couldn’t have asked for a better set-up to introduce my kids to spook houses. It was situated in one of the old downtown buildings, ushered by an old, long-haired woman.

The first room we came to was a vintage dimly lit dining room, the table draped with an antique linen tablecloth and set with a formal arrangement of elaborate utensils and layered plates, filled with gummy eyeballs and finger bread sticks. In the center was a creepy looking human head topped with spaghetti, situated on a silver platter.

It’s the scariest place my boys have ever been.

Unless you count the time I let my youngest drive my car.

Then it might be the second scariest place my boys have ever been.

After my little boys had taken in the eery dining room setting and just before we were about to move on, the head on the table let out a little “boo!” …enough to startle the boys and generate a few nervous laughs, but not so much that they would be scarred for the rest of their lives.

It was a fun spook house.

But what my boys enjoyed most were the houses that were decorated with inflatables, graveyards, spiders, and spooky Halloween lights. I’d like to think that if I ever had a house in town, my house would look something like these…

036
This house was their favorite.

Here, they each got a bag of candy, tattoos, glow-in-the-dark stickers, light sticks, silly string, juice packs, fun pads and small toys.

I’m pretty sure it will be the first house on the route next year.
038
This house had some really fun inflatables.

The picture doesn’t do it justice.
032
And this was the house that we had been watching in the days leading up to Halloween as spooky scenes were added daily.
039
When we got home, the boys sorted their candy based on size, variety, color, flavor, texture, sugar content, packaging, expiration date and edibility.

Then they carefully tallied their piles. Accounting for each and every piece of candy in their possession.
Candy counting
Making it next to impossible for a Mom to sneak candy after bedtime.

 

10 Responses to “Halloween 2012”

  1. pixilated2 Says:

    I haven’t seen a Halloween like the one in your pictures for YEARS! How fun! Around here, Halloween happens as a church social, or in some other well lit place where the cars park and the kids go “Trunk or Treating.” I think that is totally weird, but I suppose it is all in what you are used to. 😉
    Glad you all had a traditional and wonderfully fun time! ~Lynda

  2. I am totally digging the Trunk or Treat!!!! Why in the world didn’t they think of that when we were kids?! Your braves looked like they had a blast. Bummer your husband couldn’t go, that sort of thing happens to us too, life of a ranch/farm wife right 🙂
    ~d.
    p.s. love the calculator in hand with all the candy spread around….too funny.

    • Piper Long Says:

      When the boys were younger, the carnivals and trunk or treats were the way to go… much safer than traditional. I’m sure our parents would have liked to have those options when we were younger!

  3. Dianna Says:

    Looks like a fun time. (I think I would have been scared silly when that “head on the table” said BOO!) My son was a Ninja one Halloween….your pictures made me smile.

  4. Small towns like that are the best for Halloween. Lots of old houses decorated up with all kinds of scary stuff!! Good times!

  5. johncoyote Says:

    Very nice photos. Good to spend time with kids. I took my two Grand-boys and we had a great time. Halloween is fun for the kids.


I love comments!

