Coyote Soup

Bringing life back to the family ranch with three young free range braves and lots of organic elbow grease.

8 Already? November 2, 2012

Filed under: kids,Uncategorized — Piper Long @ 10:46 pm
Tags:

Today my middle child turned 8 and it’s all I can do not to grab him from his slumber and swaddle him in a baby blanket and rock him and sing him off-key lullabies until I go to sleep because honestly, I can hardly stand that he is another year older.

094

This kid never ceases to amaze me.

He practically came out of the womb speaking full, grammatically correct sentences in a strong, husky voice.

A voice that came in handy when he called out the quarterback commands during football season.
023 - Copy
This football season, his first ever, he made 30 touchdowns.
Untitled
I didn’t keep count of the tackles.
winter 2011-spring 2012 270

But as natural as he seems to be at football, baseball is his first love.

He is an avid outdoorsman.
Untitled
A dedicated fisherman.
Untitled
An adrenaline junkie.
004
And knitter.

In fact, on his birthday wish list, among the bass pro shop gift card, the guns, the fishing poles and the cowboy gear, he also requested knitting needles and yarn… any color, he said, except pink.

Pink might ruin his manly reputation.

I suppose swaddling might do the same.

 

10 Responses to “8 Already?”

  1. thornerblog Says:

    He is so precious! I can’t believe he’s 8. I love this post.

  2. Amanda Says:

    They just never stop growing! I still see my tiny babies when I look at my kids.

  3. Dianna Says:

    You left off one: he’s a cutie!! Hope he had a wonderful birthday. It’s bittersweet to watch our children growing older… the voice of experience here: my son is 32! And those memories of the swaddling days? They stay with you – no matter what their age.

  4. Pattie Park Says:

    Please tell this handsome 8 year old Happy Birthday from Ben and Pattie..We have some great memories of this kid…funny ones. lol

  5. Awww…Happy Birthday to a well rounded young man! 🙂
    ~d.


I love comments!

